Road Star Forum
Welcome, Guest
Please Login or Register.    Lost Password?
Re:Is this a MS Batwing? ebay $338 complete shipped.
Go to bottom Post Reply Favoured: 0
TOPIC: Re:Is this a MS Batwing? ebay $338 complete shipped.
#401235
Doc_V (User)
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 1245
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
Is this a MS Batwing? ebay $338 complete shipped. 10 Months, 1 Week ago  
Came across this auction on ebay and this looks very similar to the Memphis Shades batwing, but the inside looks to be different. They're only asking $338 shipped, which includes windshield and mounting hardware. Seems like a great deal. Anyone have experience with this set up or these guys?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/DETACHABLE-FAIRING-WINDSHIELD-YAMAHA-XV1600-ROAD-STAR-_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQhashZitem3369996b46QQitemZ220814994246QQptZMotorcyclesQ5fPartsQ5fAccessories#ht_1300wt_941





Thanks,

Doc_V
 
Logged Logged  
 
Last Edit: 2011/07/19 15:48 By Doc_V.
 

“The world breaks everyone, and afterward, many are strong at the broken places.” - Ernest Hemingway
  The administrator has disabled public write access.
#401239
Frogfarmer (User)
Junior Boarder
Posts: 144
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
Re:Anyone know who this is? Batwing $338 shipped. 10 Months, 1 Week ago  
Thats an MS fairing and those prices are good but not totally out of line. MS has been running some deals through their large distributers on their most popular mounting kits and the prices are running in that range. I have as MS batwing on a Stratoliner and love it. Mine has a 14" Clearview shield, the MS lowers for the batwing, the three compartment bag, and the fancy stainless trim piece for mating line of the shield. I dont like stereos on my bikes because I cant hear over the pipes and the wind at speed anyway. I have been very pleased and would recommend the MS batwing but I have well more invested than the $350 they are advertising.
 
Logged Logged  
  The administrator has disabled public write access.
#401245
Craig (User)
Beware of stupid people in large groups!
Senior Boarder
Posts: 251
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
Gender: Male Location: Greenville, TX Birthdate: 1959-12-19
Re:Anyone know who this is? Batwing $338 shipped. 10 Months, 1 Week ago  
I don't know this guy but stay away from MAXSHEN. He sells junk. Reckless is good if you want a stereo fairing.
 
Logged Logged  
 
  The administrator has disabled public write access.
#401247
Doc_V (User)
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 1245
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
Re:Anyone know who this is? Batwing $338 shipped. 10 Months, 1 Week ago  
Craig wrote:
I don't know this guy but stay away from MAXSHEN. He sells junk. Reckless is good if you want a stereo fairing.

Who's MAXSHEN?

As for Reckless- The $350 sounded good and I was about to pull the trigger when I found out they have a $50 shipping fee, and by the time you add a stereo, you're in for roughly $700 not including paint. At $338 delivered, I can live without the tunes and put the $400 toward some other gear.
 
Logged Logged  
 

“The world breaks everyone, and afterward, many are strong at the broken places.” - Ernest Hemingway
  The administrator has disabled public write access.
#401272
zoom1056 (User)
Gold Boarder
Posts: 606
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
Location: Waterboro, Maine
Re:Is this a MS Batwing? ebay $338 complete shipped. 10 Months, 1 Week ago  
Doesn't look like the back side of my Memphis batwing, don't think its the real deal. I would stay away. Go to http://www.memphisshades.com/metric-shades/batwing-fairing/metric-batwing-fairing check the dealer locator, see if you can get one local for internet pricing.
 
Logged Logged  
  The administrator has disabled public write access.
#401276
Wyvern (User)
Senior Boarder
Posts: 352
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
Gender: Male Location: Kansas City, MO. Birthdate: 1951-11-08
Re:Is this a MS Batwing? ebay $338 complete shipped. 10 Months, 1 Week ago  
I just went out and looked at mine, looks very similar but without the mounting brackets. I'm guessing the hardware they are talking about are the bolts for mounting the windshield. The quick release brackets are great but an additional expense I would think. The main thing that bothers me about the ad is that if you are selling a real Memphis Shades I would think you would want that in bold letters in the ad, not leave it out completely??
 
Logged Logged  
 
  The administrator has disabled public write access.
#401339
Craig (User)
Beware of stupid people in large groups!
Senior Boarder
Posts: 251
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
Gender: Male Location: Greenville, TX Birthdate: 1959-12-19
Re:Is this a MS Batwing? ebay $338 complete shipped. 10 Months, 1 Week ago  
Maxshen is a guy in Georgia who was / is selling fairings on Ebay. Besides myself, I know one other person that Ebay reimbursed after going through the buyer protection program. Maxshen didn't respond so Ebay paid me back including shipping. I have about $800 in my Reckless including the paint. I would suggest that you polish the stainless brackets if you go with Reckless.
 
Logged Logged  
 
  The administrator has disabled public write access.
#401365
Doc_V (User)
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 1245
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
Re:Is this a MS Batwing? ebay $338 complete shipped. 10 Months, 1 Week ago  
I emailed the guy and I'm waiting to hear back, but in the mean time, I did some further digging around and found additional info, including a bigger photo. I blew up the photo and compared it to a photo of an actual Memphis Shade. Both have the same stamp on the inside of the fairing, as well as all the same pre-drilled holes for the wind screen, and lowers. So if it's *not* a Memphis shade, it's a counterfeit. Like on of those fake $10 Rolex watches they sell on the streets.

This first image is of a real Memphis Shades batwing and clearly shows the production stamp on the inside. See the enlarged area:



And here's one of the fairing on ebay. The size of the image isn't high enough resolution to make out the *actual* wording on the stamp, but it's clearly there:



For what it's worth, I also found the guys Photobucket account and even the file name says "Memphis". See following link:

http://s766.photobucket.com/albums/xx305/discountbikestuff/?action=view&current=memphis3-1.jpg&newest=1

The guy does have a pretty respectable reputation on ebay, 97.9% Positive feedback out of 1023, so all things considered, it's sounds legit, but I'm beginning to think you're right about the brackets not being included. I guess I'll have to wait to hear back from him to find out for sure. If it turns out it *is* a real Memphis Shades and includes *all* the mounts, etc., then it's a heck of a deal.
 
Logged Logged  
 
Last Edit: 2011/07/20 01:13 By Doc_V.
 

“The world breaks everyone, and afterward, many are strong at the broken places.” - Ernest Hemingway
  The administrator has disabled public write access.
#401457
Goodygood (User)
Expert Boarder
Posts: 401
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
Gender: Male goodygood71 Location: Essex, Iowa Birthdate: 1971-10-31
Re:Is this a MS Batwing? ebay $338 complete shipped. 10 Months, 1 Week ago  
Here is Murraycycle on ebay selling MS batwing, mounting hardware, and windshield, free shipping for $369.

link
 
Logged Logged  
 
Last Edit: 2011/07/20 10:45 By Goodygood.
  The administrator has disabled public write access.
#401550
Frogfarmer (User)
Junior Boarder
Posts: 144
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
Re:Is this a MS Batwing? ebay $338 complete shipped. 10 Months, 1 Week ago  
SS Custom Cycle runs a deal on the MS batwings for the Yamaha Breeds fairly regular. Their regulat pricing is just shy of $360 delivered to the lower 48. That is for the Batwing, the trigger lock mounts, and a MS shield of your choice for the Batwing. Shane at SS offers some great deals check em out.
 
Logged Logged  
  The administrator has disabled public write access.
Go to top Post Reply
Powered by FireBoardget the latest posts directly to your desktop
...................................................................... ...................................................................... ...................................................................... ...................................................................... ...................................................................... ...................................................................... ...................................................................... ...................................................................... ...................................................................... -->
New Forum Posts




The Road Star Clinic is a collaborative community of riders who archive and publish user contributed technical data about Yamaha Road Star motorcycles.

We also sponsor the creation and support of other community websites similar to our own. Inquiries about availability of a website for your community can be submitted to us via any "Contact Us" option on the Clinic.

Copyright 2003-2007 Road Star Clinic and its respective authors. Road Star Clinic is sponsored by the folks at MLSHomeQuest.com.